2020 Monte Miller Awards

23 October, 2020 12:00 PM to 25 November, 2020 11:59 PM
Entry Fee

Competition is closed.
This competitions is for members only.

PLEASE NOTE: If you are unable to see the 'enter competition' button above, please ensure you are logged in to your AWG account, that your Associate or Student Membership is current, and that your full name, date of birth, phone, email and address are updated under your profile in 'My Account'. If you are still unable to access the entry page following this, please contact admin@awg.com.au. 
The Monte Miller Awards are only open to AWG Associate and Student Members. If you are a Full Member or qualify for Full Membership, you are not able to apply. 

The Monte Miller Awards are the premier awards for unproduced scripts in Australia, dedicated to uncovering the best new scripts and talent among AWG’s Associate and Student Membership.

Categories are open to short and long form work across all genres and formats including film, television, theatre, and interactive media, with the shortlisted and winning projects inducted onto AWG's prestigious Pathways Showcase

The Monte Miller Awards Long Form category is open to scripts of any genre more than 30 minutes in length (1 page of text = 1 minute of screen time). The Short Form category is open to scripts up to or including 30 minutes in length (1 page of text = 1 minute of screen time). 

Download the full 2020 Monte Miller information kit including entry guidelines here.


Short Form Category

The winner of the Monte Miller Award for Short Form will:

  • Have their winning project inducted onto Pathways Showcase.
  • Receive a mentorship with a suitable full member of the AWG.

Long Form Category

The winner of the Monte Miller Award for Long Form will:

  • Have their winning project inducted onto Pathways Showcase.
  • Receive a mentorship with a suitable full member of the AWG.


  • Open to current financial AWG Associate and Student Members. Membership must be valid at the time of entry and for the duration of the competition.
  • AWG offers to waive the joining fee for new members joining to enter the Monte Miller Award. To take advantage of this special offer, please email admin@awg.com.au by SUNDAY 15 NOVEMBER 2020. This will ensure we are able to process your membership before the competition closing date. 
  • New members will need to join for a minimum of 12 months.


  • Entries close 5pm Wednesday 25 November 2020 (AEDT).
  • Scripts must not have been professionally produced at the time of entry.
  • Entries may be a short film, feature film, the pilot episode of a television series or miniseries, web series, audio (including podcasts), documentary, theatre, animation or interactive media script.
  • Entrants must own all the rights to the script being entered. If the work is an adaptation, you must have the right or be able to secure the right to adapt the underlying material on which the screenplay is based or the underlying material must be in the public domain. 
  • All entries for the Monte Miller Award are to be completed online, including uploading synopsis and script documents. Your synopsis and script should not include any personal details, nor any indication of funding previously received for script development. When uploading your logline and synopsis, please download and fill in the PDF provided HERE
  • Scripts must be presented and formatted to industry standards: you can find Screen Australia’s suggested script layout here or Australian Plays' suggested script layout here.
  • All instances of collaborations and authorship must be declared in the entry form. Co-writers are not required to be AWG Members, nor can co-writers be Full Members or eligible for Full Membership of AWG (have at least 45 minutes of produced credits).

IMPORTANT NOTE: To ensure a fair judging process, the writer’s name and personal details should not appear on any part of the synopsis/script or as a header or footer within the script. Entries should also not include any reference to previous funding received for the development of the script, including agency logos. Entries that include any of the above details will not be eligible to enter.

Number of Entries

  • Entrants may enter only one individually written script in each Monte Miller Award category. However, if a script is co-written, it may be entered by any one of the AWG Member co-writers who has not already submitted an entry in that category.
  • An entrant may thus have two scripts entered in a Monte Miller category: one written solely by them, and another co-written script which has been entered by their AWG Member co-writer (provided that co-writer has not already entered a script in that same category).
  • In all cases, no individually – or collaboratively – written script can be entered more than once in any Monte Miller category.
  • Members may not enter scripts that have been submitted in previous year

© Australian Writers' Guild 2022. All Rights Reserved.
ACN: 002 563 500

Privacy Policy

Level 4, 70 Pitt St, Sydney, NSW 2000
t: 02 9319 0339
e: admin@awg.com.au

Red Tally Studios


The Australian Writers’ Guild acknowledges and pays respect to the past, present and future traditional custodians and Elders of this nation and the continuation of cultural, spiritual and educational practices of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples should be aware that this website contains images or names of people who have passed away.