Australia's screenwriting future: 2017 Monte Miller Award winners announced in Melbourne

28 February, 2018

Screenwriters Nicholas Clifford, Arky Michael and Kym Vercoe have been announced as the 2017 Monte Miller Award recipients, taking home the top prizes for unproduced screenplays in a competitive year that saw almost 400 Monte Miller entries.

Clifford took home the award in the short form category for his script The Handy Man, while Michael and Vercoe were awarded the long form category prize for their script Mrs Burswood.

The awards were celebrated by Australian Writers Guild and Screen Australia in Melbourne by a packed room of screenwriters, entrants, producers and industry figures, and were presented by AWG President Jan Sardi and Shane Brennan with Celia Pacquola acting as host.

The premier awards for unproduced scripts in Australia, the Monte Miller Awards turn the spotlight on the best among Australia’s up-and coming screenwriters, and celebrate a diverse mix of new and original Australian voices for the stage and screen. 

Presented by the Australian Writers’ Guild since 1972, they are a unique and competitive opportunity for emerging screenwriters to have their work showcased to the industry. 

The full shortlist for both awards can be viewed here, with projects now showcased on Pathways Showcase.

The 2017 Monte Miller Awards shortlists are:

Short Form category 

Alan King for Leo’s Dream

Leanne Mangan for The Morning After

Nicholas Clifford for The Handy Man

Nir Shelter and Tai Scrivener for Spies Girls: Pilot Episode

Sam Uther and Grace Uther for 1969

Tim Spencer for Wilco

Long Form category 

Arky Michael and Kym Vercoe for Mrs Burswood

Gabriel Bergmoser for Windmills

Gemma Crofts for Below the Radar  

The 2017 Monte Miller Awards are made possible with the support of our Major Government Partner Screen Australia

© Australian Writers' Guild 2022. All Rights Reserved.
ACN: 002 563 500

Privacy Policy

Level 4, 70 Pitt St, Sydney, NSW 2000
t: 02 9319 0339

Red Tally Studios


The Australian Writers’ Guild acknowledges and pays respect to the past, present and future traditional custodians and Elders of this nation and the continuation of cultural, spiritual and educational practices of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples should be aware that this website contains images or names of people who have passed away.