AWG member Tony McNamara wins Original Screenplay BAFTA

11 February, 2019

The Australian Writers' Guild congratulates long-standing AWG member Tony McNamara on taking home the British Academy of Film and Television Arts' Award for Original Screenplay yesterday evening for the critically acclaimed and wickedly funny historical satire The Favourite. 

Co-written by Deborah Davis, the film has already enjoyed substantial international success, including a series of Golden Globe nominations, a win for Best Screenplay at the 8th AACTA International Awards in January, and a dominating 10 nominations for the upcoming Academy Awards, including an Original Screenplay nomination for McNamara and Davis. 

The Favourite was a clear winner at last night's BAFTAs, picking up seven awards in total, including Outstanding British Film, Best Actress for Olivia Colman, Best Supporting Actress for Rachel Weisz and Best Production Design for fellow Aussie Fiona Crombie.

Tony has been a member of the AWG for more than 20 years and has written for a number of standout shows, including The Secret Life of UsLove My WayTanglePuberty Blues, and more recently Doctor Doctor. He was the Major Award winner at the 2003 AWGIE Awards with his feature film The Rage in Placid Lake, and took home the 2007 AWGIE Award for Television Series for Love My Way

The BAFTA Awards will air in Australia from 8.30pm tonight, 11 February, on Foxtel's BBC UKTV channel.

The 91st Academy Awards will be announced 25 February 2019, from 12 pm AEDT.

© Australian Writers' Guild 2022. All Rights Reserved.
ACN: 002 563 500

Privacy Policy

Level 4, 70 Pitt St, Sydney, NSW 2000
t: 02 9319 0339

Red Tally Studios


The Australian Writers’ Guild acknowledges and pays respect to the past, present and future traditional custodians and Elders of this nation and the continuation of cultural, spiritual and educational practices of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples should be aware that this website contains images or names of people who have passed away.