Please note that in response to the current COVID-19 situation, all AWG staff are working remotely. Please direct all messages to as the AWG phone line is currently unattended. For more information, read here.

2016 AWGIES - Save the Date - 14 October, 2016

4 April, 2016

Every year the AWGIES celebrate performance writing at its best with writers from all fields vying for the highest honours on the Guild’s night of nights. Almost 500 entries were submitted for last year’s awards.
The AWGIE Awards are the only Australian stage, screen, radio and new media awards judged exclusively on the writer’s intention - the script - allowing the writer’s vision to shine and their craftsmanship to inspire.The 27 AWGIE Award categories this year include film, television, theatre, radio, interactive media, animation and documentary. Organisers say the media through which these stories are told change but their capacity to dazzle never does. Individual category winners become eligible for the Major Award, given for the outstanding script of the year.
One significant change for this year’s awards is the dropping of the Short Film category in the TV section and the creation of a new stand-alone short form category. Called Short Form, the new category will be open to both full and associate AWG members and include webisodes and short films but exclude works originally commissioned for broadcast TV. Entries must be less than ‘a commercial half-hour’ (i.e. 22 minutes), whether a single work or several episodes in total. Works of 22 minutes or longer - whether broadcast TV, VOD or other media – will be redirected to the relevant category.
Also open for submissions from associate members are the Monte Miller Awards, a platform through which the AWGIES award new writing. The popular and competitive categories for long and short form recognise outstanding unproduced scripts. Winners and nominees for the Monte Miller Awards will also qualify for the AWG’s industry-leading Pathways initiative.
In 2015, the Major Award (and Original Feature Film category) went to Andrew Knight and Andrew Anastasios for The Water Diviner, while the Feature Film Adaptation was shared by Brendan Cowell’s Ruben Guthrie and Tommy Murphy’s Holding the Man.Submissions for the 2016 AWGIES and Monte Miller Awards have now CLOSED.2016 AWGIE Nominees will be revealed 01.08.16 
© Australian Writers' Guild 2020. All Rights Reserved.
ACN: 002 563 500

Privacy Policy

Level 4, 70 Pitt St, Sydney, NSW 2000
t: 02 9319 0339
f: 02 9223 8933

Red Tally Studios