Ingle Knight and Tommy Murphy Win the 2012 Richard Burton Award for Playwriting

2 November, 2012

The AWG congratulates full members Ingle Knight and Tommy Murphy, who have been announced as recipients of the 2012 Richard Burton Award for Playwriting. The judging panel was chaired by Sally Burton and included Australian Writers' Guild WA Chair Barbara Connell.
Full members Mary Rachel Brown and Tom Holloway were also shortlisted. Ingle and Tommy will each receive commissions worth $15,000.
Sally Burton, who created the award in association with Black Swan State Theatre Company, said "I am delighted by the calibre of submitted works to this year's Richard Burton Award. The two chosen recipients provided exciting and inspiring works that caught our attention and our hearts."
Black Swan's Artistic Director Kate Cherry said, "A Western Australian currently living in the Northern Territory, Ingle Knight's work is quite ambitious and stimulating, something the panel feels will resonate with audiences. New South Wales' Tommy Murphy submitted a thought provoking work that has very timely themes, written in a most assured hand. I am excited to see what comes of the commissions." And so are we!

© Australian Writers' Guild 2019. All Rights Reserved.
ACN: 002 563 500

Privacy Policy

Level 4, 70 Pitt St, Sydney, NSW 2000
t: 02 9319 0339
f: 02 9223 8933

Red Tally Studios