Entries open for Australian Writers’ Guild’s 50th Annual AWGIE Awards

3 February, 2017

The Australian Writers’ Guild is calling for entries for the 50th Annual AWGIE Awards.

Celebrating the very best in Australian stage and screen writing, the AWGIE Awards recognise and reward the outstanding achievements of Australian storytellers and their contribution to Australia’s cultural landscape.

These prestigious awards are the only industry awards given by writers to writers, judged exclusively on the basis of the writer’s own vision, the script. With 2017 marking their 50th anniversary, this year’s AWGIE Awards are set to be the biggest and best yet.‘The AWGIE Awards ruined my life. I can't get more than three words of crippling self-doubt out before someone in my family walks to the bookshelf and brandishes the bronze statue my way,’ said Shelley Birse, recipient of the 2016 Major Award for the second season of the cyber-thriller, The Code. ‘To be given the nod from the writers I respect most in the world? I wish this kind of ruination for everyone,’ she said.

The AWGIE Awards include categories across the diverse range of performance writing, including film, television, documentary, theatre, radio and interactive media. Each year, in addition to the AWGIE Award categories, a number of special prizes and awards are presented.

To ensure that the Awards capture the breadth and quality of Australian works being produced, every year AWG reviews all categories and Conditions of Entry, with a view to the Awards’ continued improvement and mindful of changing industry practice and standards.

Key changes for the 50th Annual AWGIE Awards include updates to the radio and television series, telemovie and miniseries categories. Furthermore, for the first time, all AWGIE Award entries can be completed online.Winners at the 49th AWGIE Awards included Angus Cerini with his Helpmann Award-winning play, The Bleeding Tree; Leah Purcell for the children’s series, Ready For This, and BAFTA-nominee Andrew Knight and Osamah Sami with their feature film, Ali’s Wedding.

Internationally acclaimed screenwriter Craig Pearce was honoured with the Australian Writers’ Guild’s Lifetime Achievement Award, proudly presented by Foxtel, and the iconic Barry Humphries was among those who received special awards for dedication and contribution to the industry.

The 50th Annual AWGIE Awards will be presented in Sydney on Friday 25 August 2017.

Entries for all categories close 5 pm Wednesday 8 March 2017.

Entry is open to financial members of AWG. New members joining to enter the AWGIE Awards will have their joining fee waived and must only pay the annual fee.

To join AWG please email the membership officer at pete@awg.com.au.

For the 50th Annual AWGIE Awards Condition of Entry Guidelines, please click here. To enter the 50th Annual AWGIE Awards, please click hereThank you to all our sponsors for the 49th Annual AWGIE Awards:

© Australian Writers' Guild 2021. All Rights Reserved.
ACN: 002 563 500

Privacy Policy

Level 4, 70 Pitt St, Sydney, NSW 2000
t: 02 9319 0339
f: 02 9223 8933
e: admin@awg.com.au

Red Tally Studios


The Australian Writers’ Guild acknowledges and pays respect to the past, present and future traditional custodians and Elders of this nation and the continuation of cultural, spiritual and educational practices of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples should be aware that this website contains images or names of people who have passed away.