2016 John Hinde Award for Science Fiction

27/06/2016 11:00 AM - 22/08/2016 5:00 PM

Sorry, this competition is closed.


Produced or unproduced, the Australian Writers’ Guild is looking for exceptional Sci-Fi!

Entries have opened for the 2016 John Hinde Awards for Excellence in Science Fiction screenwriting.

The awards, funded by a bequest from the late Australian film critic John Hinde, offers $10,000 for the best produced script and professional support for the best unproduced script submitted each year.

The award was established to encourage, reward and foster creativity in the development and showcasing of science fiction writing for feature film, short film, television, radio and interactive media. It also provides an avenue for unproduced works to enter.

Jesse O’Brien, the 2015 winner in the Produced category for his screenplay Arrowhead, says the existence of the award sends a strong message that unbridled, colourful and ambitious genre in Australia isn’t only possible, but welcome.

“We’re only a few movies away from a significant genre resurgence and if Arrowhead can inspire the imaginations of other writers, then it has done the very best thing movies can do,” he says.

Penelope Chai and Adam Spellicy won the award for best unproduced screenplay with Mary Mary, which was described by judges as “a searing indictment on gender politics”.

As part of the prize, they were inducted into AWG’s Pathways program, sponsored to attend the National Screenwriters’ Conference and had mini-mentorships with leading screenwriters Laura Jones and John Collee.

Download 2016 John Hinde Award Information Kit HERE

Please Note:  You must process your entry online and then mail us the hardcopy by COB 22 August 2016


© Australian Writer's Guild 2018. All Rights Reserved.
ACN: 002 563 500

Privacy Policy

Level 4, 70 Pitt St, Sydney, NSW 2000
t: 02 9319 0339
f: 02 9223 8933