Latest News

Meet your winners of the 56th Annual AWGIE Awards

Palawa playwright Dylan Van Den Berg has swept the Australian Writers’ Guild’s annual AWGIE Awards, taking home three prizes including the prestigious David Williamson Prize for Excellence in Writing for Australian Theatre for  Whitefella Yella Tree.

Your guide to the 56th Annual AWGIE Awards

The Australian Writers’ Guild is excited to welcome our nominees, members and guests to celebrate the 56th Annual AWGIE Awards this Thursday 15 February 2024.

David Williamson Prize-supported play Big Yikes! opens next month

The Australian Writers’ Guild is delighted that Playlab Theatre’s latest mainstage production, Big Yikes! will open next month on 13 March at the Brisbane Powerhouse.

Six screen creatives selected for the 2024 SBS Emerging Writers’ Incubator initiative

SBS has today announced the six screenwriters selected for the third year of the SBS Emerging Writers’ Incubator. The successful creatives were chosen from hundreds of submissions, and during 2024, they will each join a leading Australian production company acclaimed for their Australian drama, for a year of paid employment as they further develop their careers in the sector.

Writers of The Great, The New Boy, Colin From Accounts, Whitefella Yella Tree, Blueback, and Crazy Fun Park among nominees for the 56th Annual AWGIE Awards

An exciting field of Australian screen and stage writers have been recognised as nominees for the 56th Annual AWGIE Awards, to be presented next month in Sydney. Over 70 new and outstanding works are celebrated from a cohort of storytellers that includes emerging and debut writers who are bursting onto the scene, as well as multi-AWGIE Award winners and much-admired Guild members, a testament to the strength of our writing community and its significance at the heart of our industry.