Media Releases


10 April 2018  AWG report: More Australian works in 2018, but original voices at a standstill

5 April 2018 Laughs aplenty in sophisticated script from next-big-thing screenwriter

27 March 2018 Big names call for action to protect Australia’s screen culture

1 March 2018 Writers’ big bash finish falls short as actors reclaim Credit

28 February 2018 Australia’s Screenwriting Future: 2017 Monte Miller Award winners announced in Melbourne

26 February 2018 Far Out, Brussel Sprouts!

22 February 2018 Scripted Ink. supporting Pathways Prime writers Ellie Beaumont and Judi McCrossin in MediaXchange Showrunner Week

6 February 2018 Shortlist for premier awards for unproduced Australian screenplays


16 November 2017 AWG announces new online portal to showcase world-class projects to producers

1 November 2017 Rising star of Australia’s sci-fi scene takes home 2017 John Hinde Award for Best Unproduced Script

1 November 2017 Cris Jones, screenwriter of The Death and Life of Otto Bloom, posthumously awarded top sci-fi screenwriting prize

18 October 2017 Make it Australian campaign takes its fight to Canberra

9 October 2017 Vale Moya Wood, a tribute by Peter Kinloch

9 October 2017 Opportunity at just the right moment: Adelaide Film Festival and AWG announce 2017 winner of prestigious INSITE Award

19 September 2017 Make it Australian campaign launches around the country

26 August 2017 Writers in the spotlight: AWG honours writers of The Drover’s Wife, Lion, Hacksaw Ridge, Rosehaven, Deep Water and more at 50th Annual AWGIE Awards

23 August 2017 100K for Australian theatre: David Williamson Prize set to become one of Australia’s richest literary awards

17 August 2017 Screenwriter Jacklyn Bassanelli wins two-week residency at RMIT’s McCraith House to develop ship-fi series Evergreen

10 August 2017 ‘Voice of Australia’ on our screens: screenwriter Andrew Knight to receive screen industry top honour

25 July 2017 Screen and Entertainment Industry unites to respond to broadcasters’ call to abolish Australian Kids’ TV

4 July 2017 $10,000 on offer for top Sci-Fi script, as new era of popular sci-fi is heralded

20 June 2017 Writers of Hacksaw Ridge, Hounds of Love, The Wrong Girl, Seven Types of Ambiguity and multi award-winning The Drover’s Wife among nominees for the 50th Annual AWGIE Awards

23 May 2017 Australian Writers’ Guild congratulates Leah Purcell and Shelley Birse on NSW Premier’s Literary Award wins

22 May 2017 New AWG WA branch office now open in East Perth’s Fielder St Creative Hub

5 April 2017 Australian Writers’ Guild and Adelaide Film Festival launch INSITE Award

28 February 2017 Australian Writers’ Guild announces winner of South Australian What’s the Story? competition

10 February 2017 Former Machine Gun Fellatio frontman takes out Australian Writers’ Guild’s Prime Time screenwriting competition

9 February 2017 Australian Writers’ Guild supports campaign by writingWA to push for greater funding for the literary arts

2 February 2017 Entries open for Australian Writers’ Guild’s 50th Annual AWGIE Awards


19 December 2016 Winners of AWG / Open Channel New Writers’ Script Competition

12 December 2016 AWG Report: More Australian plays being staged, but female writers continue to miss out

30 November 2016 AWG and Scripted Ink. receive Screen Australia Enterprise funding to develop new generation of Australian screenwriters and showrunners

18 November 2016 Australian Writers’ Guild and Open Channel announce shortlist for New Writers’ Script Competition

17 November 2016 Prime Time competition heats up

11 November 2016 AWG congratulates playwright Joanna Murray-Smith following inaugural Mona Brand writing award win

9 November 2016 Screenwriter of acclaimed Indigenous superhero series Cleverman wins 2016 John Hinde Award for Science Fiction

14 October 2016 Writers of The Code, Ali’s Wedding, Jasper Jones, Barracuda and Please Like Me among winners at 49th Annual AWGIE Awards

14 October 2016 Angus Cerini wins $60,000 Award for Excellence in Australian Theatre at the 49th Annual AWGIE Awards for The Bleeding Tree

14 October 2016 Internationally famous screenwriter Craig Pearce wins Lifetime Achievement Award at 49th Annual AWGIE Award

14 October 2016 Internationally acclaimed comedian Barry Humphries wins Fred Parsons Award for Outstanding Contribution to Australian Comedy at 49th Annual AWGIE Award

11 October 2016 Pathways writer C.S. McMullen wins International Emmy Foundation Award

30 August 2016 New multi-million dollar initiative to help develop world-class Australian film and TV scripts 

25 August 2016 Agency head slams copyright changes as idealogical and unsound

8 August 2016 AWG works with major theatre companies to strike deal for playwrights

1 August 2016 Writers of Cleverman, Barracuda, Wolf Creek, Jasper Jones and Helpmann Winner, The Bleeding Tree nominated for the 49th Annual AWGIE Awards

27 July 2016 Australian writers called to help in protecting copyright in Europe

14 July 2016 New $40,000 award celebrates female stage and screen writers

14 July 2016 Screen NSW launches first Amplifier initiative

5 July 2016 Scriptwriters’ fight over unpaid royalties to go to mediation

24 June 2016 Writers & Directors Worldwide pledge support for Australian Screenwriters

30 May 2016 Writers urged to defend copyright 

27 May 2016 AWG President pledges fight will continue

27 May 2016 AWGACS celebrates ‘best year ever’

 27 May 2016 Boards welcome and farewell

27 May 2016 Pollies under the spotlight in National Arts Debate

20 May 2016 AWG vs. Screenrights legal case update

20 May 2016 New AWG committee starts building bridges

20 May 2016 AWG empowering young screenwriters

Media Releases

Media Coverage

Newsletter Archive

© Australian Writer's Guild 2018. All Rights Reserved.
ACN: 002 563 500

Privacy Policy

Level 4, 70 Pitt St, Sydney, NSW 2000
t: 02 9319 0339
f: 02 9223 8933