AWGACS Members re-elected to Screenrights Board

13 November, 2019

We are pleased to report that former AWG Vice President Kelly Lefever has been elected to the board of Screenrights and that former AWG president Geoffrey Atherden AM has been re-elected to serve alongside Kelly. Both will serve three year terms.

At the end of 2018, as you may recall, Kelly was appointed to the board of Screenrights to fill the remainder of a casual vacancy. Her formal election now is the first of three newly created, authorial director positions on the board of Screenrights, the other two being a composer and director.  

Under Screenrights’ recently amended constitution it is guaranteed that there will always be at least one screenwriter on the board. Needless to say, we are delighted that for the next three years there will be two. 

Kelly and Geoffrey are longstanding members of the AWG and AWGACS, and both are recipients of the Guild’s highest honour, The Richard Lane Award for Outstanding Service and Dedication to the Australian Writers’ Guild. 

AWGACS congratulates them and we look forward to continuing to work with Screenrights to ensure the interests of Australian, New Zealand and international scriptwriters and all rightsholders are protected.

Read the full Screenrights statement here.