The Australian Writers’ Guild runs numerous competitions throughout the year for produced and unproduced scripts across multiple genres and formats. Current and upcoming competitions are listed below. 

Competitions are judged by industry panels, with shortlisted and winning writers from most competitions made eligible for inclusion on AWG's Pathways program. Please see the individual competition guidelines for more information regarding eligibility and prizes. 

Key dates 
The John Hinde Award closed for entries on 7 February 2024. Judging is currently underway. 

The 2024 Monte Miller Awards will open for entries on Tuesday 5 March 2024

The 56th Annual AWGIE Awards will be celebrated on Thursday 15 February 2024 in Sydney.
Book your tickets HERE. See the full list of nominees HERE.

Find out more