Latest News

Screen groups present collaborative vision for the future

More than a dozen organisations representing the screen industry have called for greater harmonisation and transparency of content quotas and investment incentives across all platforms to secure the future of Australian stories on screens.


AWG addresses Government’s $250m Arts and Entertainment package

The Australian Writers’ Guild acknowledges the $250 million Arts and Entertainment industry package announced today by the Federal Government as a welcome reprieve for the sector.


Vale Jock Blair, a tribute by Tom Hegarty

Jock had been working at GTY9, starting with sweeping the studio floors, to operating the flies, to setting the lights, to an occasional stint behind the cameras. He knew just about every aspect of getting a live show to air. He also sold gags to Australia's mega-star Graham Kennedy for five quid (...

Oscar-nominated screenwriter Jan Sardi recognised as part of Queen’s Birthday Honours

​Oscar-nominated screenwriter and former Australian Writers’ Guild President Jan Sardi has been recognised for his distinguished service to the film and television industries as a screenwriter and director, and to professional guilds, awarded an Officer of the Order of Australia as part of the Queen’s Birthday Honours announced today.


Australian Writers’ Guild and Audible announce $20,000 podcast writing competition

The Australian Writers’ Guild in collaboration with Audible, the world’s leading provider and producer of audiobooks and spoken word entertainment, and with support from Screen Australia, have launched an exciting new podcast competition and development opportunity for Australian writers.


© Australian Writers' Guild 2020. All Rights Reserved.
ACN: 002 563 500

Privacy Policy

Level 4, 70 Pitt St, Sydney, NSW 2000
t: 02 9319 0339
f: 02 9223 8933

Red Tally Studios