Latest News

NCIS: Sydney S1 to welcome emerging screenwriters as part of new Screen Australia initiative

Screen Australia has today announced the NCIS: SYDNEY S1 Script Department Program, a collaboration with Endemol Shine Australia (A Banijay company) and Paramount+ to offer up to five early-mid career screenwriters the opportunity to be embedded in the script department for the highly anticipated local iteration of the global franchise NCIS: SYDNEY S1.

David Williamson Prize-supported play Jailbaby announced for Griffin's 2023 season

The Australian Writers’ Guild is delighted by Griffin Theatre Company’s announcement that Suzie Miller’s Jailbaby will receive its world premiere in 2023.

AWG announces First Break WA participants

Successful applicants have been announced in the Australian Writers’ Guild’s First Break WA program. The program, supported by Screenwest and Final Draft, is a unique professional development program designed to give talented, aspiring screenwriters the opportunity to gain in-demand and practical skills, develop their understanding of the industry, and build industry connections.

Dystopic thriller Kin wins top Australian sci-fi screenwriting award

Filmmaker Thomas Atkin has won the Australian Writers’ Guild’s John Hinde Award for Excellence in Science-Fiction Writing, taking home the top prize with a dystopian thriller that grapples with themes of power and identity.

Vale Philip Dalkin

Australia has lost one of its most successful and prolific screenwriters with the passing last week of Philip Dalkin.